FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Jan Patera » 30 Aug 2011, 16:32

I am trying to download some updates from ftp://public.dhe.ibm.com/software/rational/clearcase, but the FTP client can't parse the listing of the rational folder.
I tried various UNIX and IBM types, but no luck :-(
Perhaps the problem is in line "drwxr-s--x1214 102004493 533 102400 Aug 30 05:42 private"?
Attachments
Rational.txt
Raw listing of the rational folder
(8.8 KiB) Downloaded 211 times

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Slanec » 30 Aug 2011, 17:45

Maybe is Salamander trying to protect you from ClearCase :wink:

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Slanec » 30 Aug 2011, 18:00

But seriously - my Salamander (2.54 EN, Win XP 32-bit SP 3 EN) has no problem with listing the Rational folder. The only problem is the Private folder, but that would be because it's private, right?

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Jan Patera » 31 Aug 2011, 10:00

Slanec wrote:But seriously - my Salamander (2.54 EN, Win XP 32-bit SP 3 EN) has no problem with listing the Rational folder. The only problem is the Private folder, but that would be because it's private, right?
I wonder how you did it. AS 2.54 EN, FTP 1.32. With autodetected server type, I am even getting inconsistent results on root folder.
Attachments
ftpibm.png
ftpibm.png (51.57 KiB) Viewed 8838 times

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Slanec » 31 Aug 2011, 10:53

Jan Patera wrote:I wonder how you did it.
Ctrl+Shift+F (as expected), copypaste the address into Quick Connect with default setting (see picture attached), hit Enter. No hidden magic, I believe.
I tried to play with the server for a while, but I haven't encountered any problem so far.
Attachments
Clipbrd1.jpg
Clipbrd1.jpg (64.56 KiB) Viewed 8835 times

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Jan Patera » 31 Aug 2011, 12:22

Slanec wrote:
Jan Patera wrote:I wonder how you did it.
Ctrl+Shift+F (as expected), copypaste the address into Quick Connect with default setting (see picture attached), hit Enter. No hidden magic, I believe.
I tried to play with the server for a while, but I haven't encountered any problem so far.
Hmm, I should have posted the problematic URL and not the URL I wanted to get in: I was complaining about the rational folder, but the URL ends with clearcase. So, can you list ftp://public.dhe.ibm.com/software/rational ?

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Slanec » 31 Aug 2011, 12:30

Don't worry, I got that one. I tried to list many of the associated folders there, including the problematic one (both directly through url and nondirectly through navigating through the server). All of them work as expected.

Someone else to confirm any of our versions?

User avatar
th.
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2006, 23:09
Location: Germany

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by th. » 31 Aug 2011, 13:46

I'm getting the same results as Jan.

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Slanec » 31 Aug 2011, 17:14

What can I say?

Windows XP SP3 EN 32-bit
Altap Salamander 2.54 EN
FTP plugin 1.32

Can FTP plugin configuration play any role? I believe it can - mine is default (I think...). What else could be causing any trouble?
Attachments
Capture1.jpg
Capture1.jpg (114.65 KiB) Viewed 8820 times

therube
Posts: 628
Joined: 14 Dec 2006, 06:22

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by therube » 31 Aug 2011, 18:16

(I'm confused as to what you are seeing or not seeing or can or cannot do.)

Anyhow, I seem to have no issues, except for the Private directory (cannot be listed).
I cannot get the strange looking Date_Name combo listing like Jan posted.

Suppose they use a server farm?
Suppose they may also send you to a particular set based on locale?
So that may be part of the differences seen?
WinXP Pro SP3 or Win7 x86 | SS 2.54

User avatar
Ether
Posts: 1459
Joined: 10 May 2007, 16:08
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Ether » 04 Sep 2011, 21:33

Is your Salamander set up to use a FTP proxy?
Ελληνικά rulez.

Petr Solin
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 1110
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 09:13
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Petr Solin » 04 Sep 2011, 22:34

Jan Patera wrote:Perhaps the problem is in line "drwxr-s--x1214 102004493 533 102400 Aug 30 05:42 private"?
Yes, there is missing space after "rights" column: "drwxr-s--x1214" should be "drwxr-s--x 1214".

When I try to connect to this server, it works well, because it sends me this line correctly with space:
"drwxr-s--x 1206 17037 209 94208 Sep 4 00:42 private".

It's possible to patch UNIX1 parser to bypass this error in listing but I'm not sure if it is good idea. It's rare and it can cause troubles with parsing other listings.

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Jan Patera » 05 Sep 2011, 07:23

Ether wrote:Is your Salamander set up to use a FTP proxy?
Right. I was behind firewall. Now from home it is OK.

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: FTP plugin can't parse IBM site

Post by Jan Patera » 05 Sep 2011, 07:24

Petr Solin wrote:
Jan Patera wrote:Perhaps the problem is in line "drwxr-s--x1214 102004493 533 102400 Aug 30 05:42 private"?
It's possible to patch UNIX1 parser to bypass this error in listing but I'm not sure if it is good idea. It's rare and it can cause troubles with parsing other listings.
I would go for it. At least some heuristics could be done, IMHO.

Post Reply