right mouse click stops working

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
jwatersphd
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jun 2013, 18:49

right mouse click stops working

Post by jwatersphd » 11 Jun 2014, 23:14

For a couple tries, the right click in left or right window brings up the context menu - allowing to delete, copy, make new folder, etc.
Then it gets to the point where it does not do anything anymore and I have to go to the menu - file menu to "delete" or make "new" folder; edit menu to cut, copy, paste.
If I re-boot or quit and re-start AS, it might work again for a while, though I'm not entirely sure. Once the right click has stopped working it does not seem to be able to be re-started (made functional) again.
Very tedious and slow to have to go the main menu bar to do anything.
This just started happening a week or so ago. I had the "conduit" toolbar hijacker, got rid of that with SpyHunter, and, I think, I re-installed AS from the latest downloaded update.
windows 7 32 bit is the OS (system), Dell Latitude D830 is the machine, mouse is logitech trackball.
Thanks
JHW

User avatar
SelfMan
Posts: 955
Joined: 05 Apr 2006, 20:51
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by SelfMan » 12 Jun 2014, 01:22

It is possible, that your registry got damaged by the malware or malware removal tool. Some shell extension can be broken and prevents the context menu from showing up. Are you able to use the context menu in Windows Explorer? Do you have any errors in the event log? (WinKey+R > eventvwr.msc<enter>)
BTW how about System restore and setting the computer state 2 weeeks back?

jwatersphd
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jun 2013, 18:49

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by jwatersphd » 12 Jun 2014, 02:30

Thanks. I'm able to use context menus everywhere but AS. I'll check event log - I had gobs of them of course as I was trying to eradicate Conduit before spy hunter.
I would hate to do system restore with most things working; also, wouldn't that just put the "virus" or browser hijacker - Conduit, SafeSearch, SearchProtect are some of the names - back into the machine?
I also re-installed AS from 2.54 and then did the upgrade to 3, but it's a different machine and I've not had time to evaluate if that will continue to work (it did for a short period).
I will check back for your response and also report whether re-install from "base" version rather than just updating to 3 has worked.
Thank you.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by Jan Rysavy » 12 Jun 2014, 08:24

So when you righ-click some file or directory, Salamander will not display context menu now?

User avatar
SelfMan
Posts: 955
Joined: 05 Apr 2006, 20:51
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by SelfMan » 12 Jun 2014, 09:58

Depending on the antimalware tool, it might also remove the malware from the restore point. But this could also mean that the restore point might fail to restore. The only way to do it is to do a full backup (with AOMEI Backupper which is free) and then try the system restore.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by Jan Rysavy » 12 Jun 2014, 10:02

Is AOMEI Backupper any better than Windows Image Backup?

User avatar
SelfMan
Posts: 955
Joined: 05 Apr 2006, 20:51
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by SelfMan » 12 Jun 2014, 10:10

I would say HELL JIEAH. Atleast you have more control about the backups, backup placement.
There is a pretty nice licensing for us TECHs where you can buy Technician licence and install the backup tool on any computer you take care of.
(I know that this sounds like an advertisement, but I like that tools)
There are some features which I am missing (mail a log file) but the guys who develop the tool promissed to implement it as its on the todo list.
Check http://www.backup-utility.com/edition-comparison.html

jwatersphd
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jun 2013, 18:49

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by jwatersphd » 13 Jun 2014, 03:08

Jan Rysavy wrote:So when you righ-click some file or directory, Salamander will not display context menu now?
Yes, after I use it once or twice it stops functioning, at least until I quit and re-start it.
I was thinking of doing a sfc /scannow to see if files have been deleted affecting the "shell" but no other programs are defective.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by Jan Rysavy » 13 Jun 2014, 06:30

You can try to unpack Altap Salamander 3.02 SDK.
Start tserver\tserver.exe (Trace Server, will capture debug messages from Salamander) and salamand.exe (special SDK build with debug messages).
Look at Trace Server window, it should contain messages from Salamander.
Reproduce problem.
Look at Trace Server windows again, does it contains some error (red lines) messages? You can export messages using menu Log > Export and send it to me at jan.rysavy@altap.cz.

noetus
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Jan 2007, 02:55

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by noetus » 07 Oct 2015, 00:18

I have the exact same problem, x64 version of latest version of AS (3.06).

My symptoms are as described above, oddly the right-click/context menu continues to work on the right-hand pane will not working on the left-hand pane. Restarting AS makes it start working again in the left pane for a few clicks, then stops working again (meanwhile in right pane is fine).

Uninstalling and reinstalling AS did not help.

Context menu works everywhelse (including as mentioned in the right pane of AS).

User avatar
SvA
Posts: 453
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 02:41
Location: DE

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by SvA » 07 Oct 2015, 13:29

  • What happens if you switch panes in AS (Menu Left or Right, Swap (or Ctrl+U))? Is it still the left pane that's not working?
  • What happens if you move Salamander's window so the left pane will be where the right pane was on your screen. Still not working?
  • Any software running that hooks or otherwise injects into other windows (e.g. for providing additional functionality such as sharing, transparency, enhanced move or resize...) or maybe even an alternate shell/desktop window manager?

noetus
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Jan 2007, 02:55

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by noetus » 07 Oct 2015, 15:35

When I swap panes (ctrl-U) and it was the right one not working with right-click, now it is the left one not working on right-click. So yes the behaviour tracks the actual pane of AS.

I have another Windows 8.1 x64 with the exact same set of software installs (same work machine setup) and I don't have this problem there.

I should note that other right-click operations continue to work fine - for example right-click-and-drag. It is just the context menu that fails to activate. Meanwhile it is working in Explorer, etc.

therube
Posts: 625
Joined: 14 Dec 2006, 06:22

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by therube » 07 Oct 2015, 16:21

When you start Salamander, are you using any command-line parameters?

?

(Wayback) Right-click is slow or weird behavior caused by context menu handlers

ShellExView - Shell Extensions Manager
WinXP Pro SP3 or Win7 x86 | SS 2.54

noetus
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Jan 2007, 02:55

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by noetus » 07 Oct 2015, 19:27

Hmmmmm.

Thing is, this is ONLY happening with AS. There are no issues, no weirdness, nothing, with any other application, nor with Windows itself. Everything is smooth, quick, and as it should be. Except for AS.

Thus it seems the problem has specifically to do with AS, perhaps a conflict with something else, but still to do with AS, not Explorer. Therefore seems to me that it would be a good idea to try to debug AS to see what is going on.

Earlier in this thread some resources were provided for doing that, but they now relate to an outdated version of AS.

Any chance a link to updated versions of these could be supplied for debugging?

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: right mouse click stops working

Post by Jan Rysavy » 07 Oct 2015, 19:45

Open the link you are talking about...

Post Reply