Page 5 of 6

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 12 Sep 2009, 19:36
by Raptor
Hi, just found one thing.
When service is disabled, there is no active "Start" button in Service manager's dialog window. But in your plugit button is enabled. But it doesn't work. It throws error, because service is disabled and must be switched to Manual mode first. Right-click menu is ok.
Service manager
Service manager
manager.png (35.55 KiB) Viewed 14900 times
Plugin
Plugin
plugin.png (27.32 KiB) Viewed 14901 times

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 12 Sep 2009, 20:15
by Mike12345
Thank you. Will fix that in the next version.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 14 Sep 2009, 00:20
by vld
Just tested this in v2.5 and won't install
This plugin is freeware and supports Altap Salamander Version 2.50, 2.51 and 2.52.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 14 Sep 2009, 08:55
by Petr Solin
Mike12345 wrote:Instead i thought asking for confirmation for each and every service would be a saver way.
OK, it sounds reasonable.

I have tried to delete two services. I selected them, click Delete from context menu, confirmed first service, it was deleted and that's all. Second service survived, please check it.

Delete from context menu has different confirmation messagebox than Delete (e.g. using Delete key), I think there should be no difference. Both Deletes should execute the same code. Maybe you should add MSGBOXEX_ESCAPEENABLED to standard MB_YESNO (when Escape is pressed, it returns IDNO).

Error message when service is already deleted (marked for deletion) and I try to Start it (you should disable Start button in Properties dialog too, context menu is already disabled) (I have used Ctrl+C in messagebox to copy all texts):
---------------------------
Service Explorer
---------------------------
The operation you attempted was not successfull.

Errorcode 1058: Unknown.
---------------------------
[OK]
---------------------------

When I try to Delete it (message is OK):
---------------------------
Service Explorer
---------------------------
The operation you attempted was not successfull.

Errorcode 1072: The service is marked for deletion.
---------------------------
[OK]
---------------------------

When I try to change Startup type from Properties dialog (same number but message is not OK):
---------------------------
Service Explorer
---------------------------
The operation you attempted was not successfull.

Errorcode 1072: Unknown.
---------------------------
[OK]
---------------------------

BTW, you have typo in Properties dialog: "Path to executeable".

Do you have some plans with Help button in Properties dialog? Maybe the best solution would be to hide it, or not? ;-)

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 14 Sep 2009, 09:01
by Jan Rysavy
Petr Solin wrote:BTW, you have typo in Properties dialog: "Path to executeable".
Already reported, lost in posts ;-)
http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?p=17003#p17003

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 14 Sep 2009, 09:12
by Mike12345
Thanks @all for reporting.
Will be fixed in next version. 8)

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 18 Sep 2009, 11:56
by thomas
There is an issue with the recognition of the language file since version 0.09. The plugin will not be loaded if you use an other language as english. You can rename the English language file or test it with the German language package.
error.png
error.png (8.47 KiB) Viewed 14769 times
The older versions run very well, I hope it's only a simple problem. :)

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 18 Sep 2009, 14:09
by Mike12345
Thanks for reporting. :shock:
I will try to reproduce this.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 18 Sep 2009, 14:17
by Mike12345
Can't reproduce. Renamed the "english.slg" from the 0.10 version to "german.slg" - changed AS Language to german and it worked.
Maybe you use a older (translated) version of the "german.slg" ?

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 18 Sep 2009, 14:29
by thomas
You have to change only the main language file of AS! If the plugin was installed under English language it won't work anymore and if you try to add "Windows services" as a new plugin, you can't install this plugin.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 18 Sep 2009, 21:51
by Petr Solin
I can confirm this problem. Just go to plugins\svcexp\lang and rename english.slg to german.slg (lang directory will contain only german.slg), then run Salamander (in English), remove your plugin from Plugins Manager, and then try to add your plugin. It displays that messageboxes.

I have debugged this and problem is that your english.slg is missing SLGAuthor, SLGEmail, SLGWeb, and SLGComment in VERSIONINFO resource. These strings are required, if I understand it well, you have removed them between versions 0.0.9 and 0.0.10.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 19 Sep 2009, 16:09
by Mike12345
Weird. Must be a conflict with some resource/include files or something.
Don't remember any substantial change in the resource files since 0.9. :?
Thanks for digging that deep, Petr. Will try to fix that in the next version.

Thomas has reported the same problem also exists in the WinSCP Plugin.
Maybe you have time to look at this plugin also.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 20 Sep 2009, 22:15
by Petr Solin
See PLUGINS\SHARED\versinfo.rc with defined _LANG macro.

Martin Prikryl will build German/Czech version of language module for WinSCP, then I'll try to check it for this problem, thanks for info.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 23 Feb 2010, 15:41
by xm
Is it possible to display another (sortable) column with the "real" service name?
(by the "real" I mean e.g. the "dot3svc" for the "Wired AutoConfig" service etc...)
Thanks.

Re: Service Explorer Plugin

Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 16:16
by azaz44
Is there any update or replacement that would allow to control services in AS 64-bit beta?