bug report in pictview - scanning in x64

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
zxspectrum
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:11
Location: Lugoj,Romania
Contact:

bug report in pictview - scanning in x64

Post by zxspectrum » 24 Sep 2012, 14:22

hi, i wanted to make a scan with pictview, thing that i do very often with 2.54 and it works great (only problem is i cannot scan in pdf format)
today, i tried to scan with 3.0 beta,and i get this error mesage when i try to select scanner source (attach)

P.S. i dont even get to select source...as this message appears right after clicking the "select scanner source".
I should mention that pictview in 2.54 works just fine

Hope my post will help fix the bug

If you need more information please tell.
Attachments
twain source manager - Untitled.jpg
twain source manager - Untitled.jpg (364.97 KiB) Viewed 4725 times

User avatar
Ether
Posts: 1457
Joined: 10 May 2007, 16:08
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by Ether » 07 Oct 2012, 00:36

Are you using 32-bit or 64-bit version of Salamander?
Ελληνικά rulez.

zxspectrum
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:11
Location: Lugoj,Romania
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by zxspectrum » 07 Oct 2012, 11:31

64 bit version...havent tried on x86

User avatar
Ether
Posts: 1457
Joined: 10 May 2007, 16:08
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by Ether » 11 Oct 2012, 15:40

Could you try it? - so we can know whether it's a problem related to the 64-bit version, or to some other changes made between v2.54 and v3.0b.
Ελληνικά rulez.

zxspectrum
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:11
Location: Lugoj,Romania
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by zxspectrum » 11 Oct 2012, 17:05

well, i just tried x86 version but only on windows xp (x86) for now i dont have any w7 x86 to test it on....and it works,i could select the scanner source and i even got to scan the page....so i guess the x86 verion works....

therube
Posts: 603
Joined: 14 Dec 2006, 06:22

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by therube » 12 Oct 2012, 00:55

> i dont have any w7 x86 to test it on

That doesn't matter.
You can still run the 32-bit version of Salamander on Win7 x64.

(It is the opposite that you cannot do. You cannot run 64-bit Salamander on [any] x86 OS.)
WinXP Pro SP3 or Win7 x86 | SS 2.54

zxspectrum
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:11
Location: Lugoj,Romania
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview

Post by zxspectrum » 12 Oct 2012, 13:30

you are right...i can always install x86 version of salamander on x64 system...so i did that and it works , the plugin works as it is supposed to do, i can select the source and then scan ...
so everything works as it should...guess the problem is in x64 version.Good luck with that.

P.S. hope you implement a "scan to PDF" function as the jpg format is getting obsolete.Thank You

Petr Solin
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 1104
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 09:13
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: bug report in pictview - scanning in x64

Post by Petr Solin » 22 Dec 2015, 16:52

We have added support for scanning using WIA to version 3.07 x64. TWAIN x64 seems to be much less popular, so we will not support it now.

contich1940
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Jun 2018, 10:01

Re: bug report in pictview - scanning in x64

Post by contich1940 » 26 Jun 2018, 10:09

therube wrote:
12 Oct 2012, 00:55
> i dont have any w7 x86 to test it on

That doesn't matter.
You can still run the 32-bit version of Salamander on Win7 x64.

(It is the opposite that you cannot do. You cannot run 64-bit Salamander on [any] x86 OS.)
Yes, he is right you can also run a 32-bit version of salamander on Win7 x64.

Post Reply