Edit the Software

This is a place for users to discuss Altap Salamander. Please feel free to ask, answer questions, and express your opinion. Please do not post problems, bug reports or feature requests here.
Newplay123
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jul 2019, 11:17

Edit the Software

Post by Newplay123 » 08 Jul 2019, 11:20

Hello,

I have a question about the “Altap Salamander” program.
Is there a way to edit the software so that users can no longer click on menu items like "Customize Plugins" or "Configuration" ?

I hope you can help me.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Jan Rysavy » 08 Jul 2019, 12:08

It is not possible.

Newplay123
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jul 2019, 11:17

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Newplay123 » 08 Jul 2019, 13:12

Jan Rysavy wrote:
08 Jul 2019, 12:08
It is not possible.
Is there a way to do this via "regedit" ?

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Jan Rysavy » 08 Jul 2019, 13:49

No, it isn't. Please tell us more... why do you need such option?

Newplay123
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jul 2019, 11:17

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Newplay123 » 08 Jul 2019, 13:52

Jan Rysavy wrote:
08 Jul 2019, 13:49
No, it isn't. Please tell us more... why do you need such option?
I work in a company with 5 employees.
They should not be able to change any settings in the program.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Jan Rysavy » 08 Jul 2019, 15:36

Unfortunately Salamander is not prepared for this usage scenario.

User avatar
tukanos
Posts: 326
Joined: 21 Dec 2005, 19:14

Re: Edit the Software

Post by tukanos » 08 Jul 2019, 20:16

Newplay123 wrote:
08 Jul 2019, 13:52
Jan Rysavy wrote:
08 Jul 2019, 13:49
No, it isn't. Please tell us more... why do you need such option?
I work in a company with 5 employees.
They should not be able to change any settings in the program.
I think your only option is to save the settings and overwrite the registry every time AS is started. You will have the AS always the same.

User avatar
zarevak
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 789
Joined: 04 Feb 2006, 16:49
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Edit the Software

Post by zarevak » 09 Jul 2019, 10:34

1) You can try setting Salamander's registry keys as write protected for users using ACL so the users cannot save the changed configuration. Then there will be no need for reapplying your configuration configuration.

2) You can also uncheck the "Save configuration on exit" checkbox so the Salamander
Image
(manually using the "Options > Save configuration" from the main menu will still save the configuration)

Slanec
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 19:00

Re: Edit the Software

Post by Slanec » 09 Jul 2019, 13:00

Newplay123 wrote:
08 Jul 2019, 13:52
I work in a company with 5 employees.
They should not be able to change any settings in the program.
As an employee, please do not do this. If your employees are advanced enough to meddle with something in the Configuration menu, they should be allowed to do so. IT beginners will not randomly go there, change things randomly and click Save.

Post Reply