Dos command line

We welcome any suggestions for new features or improvements in Altap Salamander. Please post one suggestion per report.
Franco Pirrone

Dos command line

Post by Franco Pirrone » 02 Jun 2006, 17:35

The dos command line in the bottom part of the screen, could look better I think if it could have black background (and have an immediate Dos look and feel).

Moreover when you type text while the focus is in the file panel, it should automatically give the focus to the dos area, because it should be supposed you want to type a dos command.

Actually a cursor appear in the file panel area that moves step by step you type text without other effects.

This was the standard behavior in Norton Commander, very useful...

Franco Pirrone

User avatar
AbteriX
Posts: 94
Joined: 12 Mar 2006, 20:55
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Post by AbteriX » 02 Jun 2006, 17:52

Franco,

please go to "Options || Configurations..."
- click on "Panels"
- find the "Keyboard"-Section
- and check "[ ] Redirect typing .... to command line...."
AbteriX

User avatar
SvA
Posts: 461
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 02:41
Location: DE

Re: Dos command line

Post by SvA » 02 Jun 2006, 18:02

Franco Pirrone wrote:The dos command line in the bottom part of the screen, could look better I think if it could have black background (and have an immediate Dos look and feel).
The command line is not the console. It's more like the Run... entry in Windows' Start menu (though it differs from that in regard to always starting it's command through the command shell).

I don't think, a black bar would look better.
And what's the 'feel' you are talking about?
Hint: you can quickly launch a console window using Hotkeys NUM-/ or CRTL-#. This will give you 100% authentic Windows console look and feel.
Franco Pirrone wrote:Moreover when you type text while the focus is in the file panel, it should automatically give the focus to the dos area, because it should be supposed you want to type a dos command.
Please look at the Configuration, Panels: Redirect typing from pannel to Command Line (hold ALT for Quick Search)
Franco Pirrone wrote:Actually a cursor appear in the file panel area that moves step by step you type text without other effects.
Without other effects? This is the Quick Search function, and the reason why the option above is turned off by default. Once you got used to it, you will want to change behaviour of any other File manager to behave like Servant Salamander does. Altap's implementation of this is a master piece which I have not found implemented that well in any other software.
Franco Pirrone wrote:This was the standard behavior in Norton Commander, very useful...
I don't know about Norton Commander's working, but for Servant Salamander it's the most usefull way of working I could think of...

User avatar
Mem
Posts: 202
Joined: 08 Mar 2006, 15:07
Contact:

Post by Mem » 02 Jun 2006, 18:20

What about trying to search the forum first :?: :!:

Similar topic is discussed here:
http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?t=601

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5197
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Jan Rysavy » 02 Jun 2006, 18:51

Hello Franco,

before you will switch the "Redirect typing from panel to Command Line" ON, please look at:

1. Quick Search mode of panel (default behaviour when you type in panel)
http://www.altap.cz/salam_en/features/k ... html#quick

2. Ctrl+Tab hot key for switching to/from Command Line
Escape hot key from leaving command line PLUS cleaning it
http://www.altap.cz/salam_en/features/k ... l#commands

3. Read this "productivity" thread: http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?t=178

Try to use the Quick Search mode for a few days... it could be really usefull.

Franco Pirrone

Command Line

Post by Franco Pirrone » 02 Jun 2006, 18:57

AbteriX, sVa, Mem thanks a lot


I switched on the option to capture the text and send to the command line, then I read about the quick search function and I agree is very useful.

I was already used the Numlock / for opening a console window and I know the difference and the limitation if compared with the command line. I agree anyway that quick search function (I didn't know about it) is more useful than to have the text captured to the command line (in fact I disabled again the option).

I see I need to read manuals, I just registered and I didn't have help files before. Similitude with NC is high and compatibility of most function keys very useful for who like me comes from it.

I realize that the black background for command line is just subjective, but since it was like that in NC I preferred that way, maybe could be automatically black background when NC compatiblity is selected and maybe also capture mode to the command line should be enabled if NC is selected.

I speak only for the ones that come from NC, to find something that look and feels very similar, at least in the first phase do the difference between to use it or to move to something else. NC users were millions maybe is just a marketing choice but I am sure could work the way it worked with me with many other "suspicious" ex users of NC towards NC clones.

That said, I also find Servant Salamander is the best I could find on the market, I just started to use enhanced functionalities that before I could only find in external applications (viewers, FTP clients, etc.).


Many thanls for your support!
Franco Pirrone
Italy

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5197
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Jan Rysavy » 02 Jun 2006, 19:03

I realize that the black background for command line is just subjective, but since it was like that in NC I preferred that way, maybe could be automatically black background when NC compatiblity is selected and maybe also capture mode to the command line should be enabled if NC is selected.
Command Line colors could be configurable in further versions of SS (Options > Configuration > Colors). Please post this idea as separate thread in the Feature Requests section, so we will be able to find it.
Last edited by Jan Rysavy on 02 Jun 2006, 19:04, edited 1 time in total.

Guest

Post by Guest » 02 Jun 2006, 19:03

Jan Rysavy wrote:Hello Franco,

before you will switch the "Redirect typing from panel to Command Line" ON, please look at:

1. Quick Search mode of panel (default behaviour when you type in panel)
http://www.altap.cz/salam_en/features/k ... html#quick

2. Ctrl+Tab hot key for switching to/from Command Line
Escape hot key from leaving command line PLUS cleaning it
http://www.altap.cz/salam_en/features/k ... l#commands

3. Read this "productivity" thread: http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?t=178

Try to use the Quick Search mode for a few days... it could be really usefull.

Thanks for your support and your attention Jan!
Ctrl+Tab is great, in this way I don't loose the possibility to have a fast way to go to command line and I don't loose the very useful wuick search function! Great! I am always more happy! I will read help file now to discover all the possibilities!

Franco Pirrone

Post Reply