pre-select file name (without ext) in Quick Rename dialog

We welcome any suggestions for new features or improvements in Altap Salamander. Please post one suggestion per report.
egbert

pre-select file name (without ext) in Quick Rename dialog

Post by egbert »

Hi,

more often than not, when renaming a file, I don't want to change its extension but only the name part (e.g.: renaming file1.png to file2.png).

When 'Quick Renaming' (F2) a file, the entire file name is pre-selected so I have to manually mark the name part to achieve what I want.
O.k., it's really not that annoying, but being spoiled by all the convenience Servant Salamander offers, this tiny flaw stands out :wink:

What about having the Quick Rename dialog pre-select only the name part of the file name, not the extension part?

Regards,
Egbert
User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by KNUT »

nice idea, but not a "must have"
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now
PepaR
Posts: 192
Joined: 09 Dec 2005, 18:48
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Post by PepaR »

Yes, I vote for it...
zxspectrum
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:11
Location: Lugoj,Romania
Contact:

Post by zxspectrum »

Yes, i kinda like that ideaa too.i use very often quick rename especially when i want to make a directory after an archive name or mp3, and i always manually delete the extension from quickrename.
Tomcat
Posts: 44
Joined: 28 Apr 2006, 17:21

Post by Tomcat »

I also raise my hand and vote for this feature. I guess that I keep the extension in 90% of my rename operations.

Currently there are two ways to 'quick rename', the F2 key and the single click onto a seleted filename (windows explorer style). If one of these (preferably per F2 ) could highlight all but the extension there would be both options available in SS.
hotdog
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Jan 2006, 14:58
Location: Greece

Post by hotdog »

Tomcat wrote:I also raise my hand and vote for this feature. I guess that I keep the extension in 90% of my rename operations.
Make that 99% for me! I think we should vote for this one. A must-have feature and not really hard to implement Altap guys... :roll:

Ahh! Can you include an option in the confirmations dialog that would look like "When renaming do not allow names longer than 64 characters (CDFS compatibility)" for people who regularly write files (such as mp3s) to CD/DVDs and there is a restriction in the filenames which doesn't allow them to exceed 64 characters in length?
omega
Posts: 193
Joined: 09 Dec 2005, 19:21

Post by omega »

Don't think it's a flaw plus are song names that long 64 chars?
freckyo
Posts: 8
Joined: 29 Apr 2006, 23:07
Location: Warendorf, Germany
Contact:

Post by freckyo »

I vote for this feature, too! When the user wants to change the file's extension instead, he can press the end-key and the pre-selection will disappear + the cursor will be positioned to the filename's end.
User avatar
Josip Tosic
Posts: 42
Joined: 01 Jan 2006, 14:58
Location: Split, Croatia

Post by Josip Tosic »

Maybe a "new" dialog that'd only display the filename? With a new shortcut? [Shift]+[F2]?

Or, maybe a better idea, display filename and extension in separate textboxes and preselect the contents of the first textbox (filename)? User could simply [Tab] into the next textbox and extension would be preselected.
Josip Tosic - the Learned, Impartial and Very Relaxed
User avatar
AbteriX
Posts: 94
Joined: 12 Mar 2006, 20:55
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Post by AbteriX »

I learned this behaviour for my own use:

1.) F2
2.) 4 times "Arrow left"
3.) Shift+Pos1
4.) wrote new name
5.) ENTER

or

1.) F2
2.) more times "Arrow left" --- or mouse click on the desired place
3.) modify
4.) ENTER

But i grant i think about Josip second suggestion first time i read this thread, too :lol:
AbteriX
User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by KNUT »

AbteriX wrote:I learned this behaviour for my own use:[...]
I did it my way:
1.) F2
2.) POS1 (HOME)
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+LEFT
4.) SHIFT+LEFT (that means to only release the CTRL-Button)
5.) write the new name + ENTER :o

or

1.) F2
2.) write the new name + ".*" + ENTER :shock:
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now
User avatar
AbteriX
Posts: 94
Joined: 12 Mar 2006, 20:55
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Post by AbteriX »

KNUT wrote:
AbteriX wrote:I learned this behaviour for my own use:[...]
I did it my way:
1.) F2
2.) POS1 (HOME)
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+LEFT
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+RIGHT <= you mean :D
4.) SHIFT+LEFT (that means to only release the CTRL-Button)
5.) write the new name + ENTER :o
WOW, nice too !
especially for names without spaces.
or

1.) F2
2.) write the new name + ".*" + ENTER :shock:
:shock: you'r right, think DOS :shock:

I try to remember this tricks :!:
AbteriX
User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by KNUT »

AbteriX wrote:
KNUT wrote:I did it my way:
1.) F2
2.) POS1 (HOME)
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+LEFT
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+RIGHT <= you mean :D
For sure :oops:
AbteriX wrote:
4.) SHIFT+LEFT (that means to only release the CTRL-Button)
5.) write the new name + ENTER :o
WOW, nice too !
especially for names without spaces.
ONLY for names without spaces!! :(
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now
User avatar
SvA
Posts: 468
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 02:41
Location: DE

Post by SvA »

What about
1.) F2
2.) CTRL+SHIFT+LEFT
3.) SHIFT+LEFT (that means to only release the CTRL-Button)
4.) write the new name + ENTER

You may leave out step 3 and add the dot again before pressing enter.

Spaces and the like in extensions are very rare.
Tomas Kopal
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 131
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 23:01
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Tomas Kopal »

KNUT wrote:I did it my way:
1.) F2
2.) POS1 (HOME)
3.) CTRL+SHIFT+RIGHT
4.) SHIFT+LEFT (that means to only release the CTRL-Button)
5.) write the new name + ENTER :o
SHIFT+HOME in step 4) will take care of the spaces, but the key is a bit farther away ;-).
Post Reply