Tabbed Panels

We welcome any suggestions for new features or improvements in Altap Salamander. Please post one suggestion per report.
DuncanG

Tabbed Panels

Post by DuncanG »

Please can we have Tabbed Panels?

I've been using AS2 for quite a few years so I don't mind paying for the AS3 upgrade, but _only_ if it gives me tabbed panels.
Wizzard

Re: Tabbed Panels

Post by Wizzard »

If you want the tabbed panels, use Linux and Krusader file manager, it looks almost like Salamander and it is free :)
Ether

Post by Ether »

Tabs are "on the roadmap", which means the developers would like to implement them at some point, but are currently working on other, higher-priority tasks.
Ελληνικά rulez.
polyakoff
Translator
Translator

Post by polyakoff »

Wizzard wrote:use Linux and Krusader file manager
zorglups

Post by zorglups »

It is just a small UP.
Pleaaaaaaase. Altap is sooo good and the only lack are:
- Tabbed panels
- Better favorites (10 is too few)

Pleaaaaase.

Maybe the only other whish would be to have it portable but I can understand you do not want to go this way.
mklhmnn

Post by mklhmnn »

What would be the advantage of having tabs?
therube

Post by therube »

To avoid having multiple upon multiple separate instances of Salamander open.

To have tab "groups", on each panel side, that are relatively constant, for those places that you regularly deal with file manipulations. That would make it far more convenient, far less jumping around, far easier to use. To allow you to more easily perform operations of multiple to one, or one to multiple, or multiple to multiple.

Tabs are sorely need.
(If, when, it comes to the time that you look at alternatives to get around lacking of existing, it's time.)
WinXP Pro SP3 or Win7 x86 | SS 2.54
mklhmnn

Post by mklhmnn »

I only need a second instance of AS, if (a) one is running in super-user mode or (b) one is uploading to SFTP.
Ether

Post by Ether »