SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

We welcome any suggestions for new features or improvements in Altap Salamander. Please post one suggestion per report.
User avatar
.me
Posts: 26
Joined: 15 Dec 2005, 00:17
Location: DE
Contact:

SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by .me » 15 Dec 2005, 01:07

I really like the renamer-plugin but I miss one feature:
If I select two or more folders I can rename all files inside these folders by using the counter. But I can't cofigure the renamer so that the counter in every folder starts from 1 or whatever I choose.

my renamer settings:
$(Counter:1,1,d,3,0).jpg and [X] include subdirectories
now the renamer works this way:

[DIR1]
dasd.jpg > 001.jpg
dase.jpg > 002.jpg
dast.jpg > 003.jpg
dbsx.jpg >004.jpg
[DIR2]
dasd.jpg > 004.jpg
dase.jpg > 005.jpg
dast.jpg > 006.jpg
dbsx.jpg >007.jpg

I wish I could use something like this:
$(Counter:1,1,d,3,0,dir).jpg
to recieve this:
[DIR1]
dasd.jpg > 001.jpg
dase.jpg > 002.jpg
dast.jpg > 003.jpg
dbsx.jpg > 004.jpg
[DIR2]
eraadd.jpg > 001.jpg
eraaee.jpg > 002.jpg
eraast.jpg > 003.jpg
erabsx.jpg > 004.jpg
------------------------------------

the other thing is that if I select more then one file and press [F2] in SS, the renamer plugin should start.
Last edited by .me on 15 Dec 2005, 01:49, edited 1 time in total.
(o.O) -(@.@)- (/o.O\) ,,,`Q´,,, {~.~} (^.^)

User avatar
ino
Posts: 440
Joined: 09 Dec 2005, 14:59
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by ino » 15 Dec 2005, 01:11

.me wrote:if I select more then one file and press [F2] in SS, the renamer plugin should start.
yes this is good idea :idea:

Guest

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by Guest » 15 Dec 2005, 07:01

.me wrote:if I select more then one file and press [F2] in SS, the renamer plugin should start.
Only if one of the selected files has focus. If focus is outside the selected files (which it normally is having selected a block with Space or Ins) then I would want to rename the focused file and NOT the selected files. Anyway, is it that much more difficult to press Ctrl+Shift+R than F2?

User avatar
.me
Posts: 26
Joined: 15 Dec 2005, 00:17
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by .me » 15 Dec 2005, 20:14

Anonymous wrote:Anyway, is it that much more difficult to press Ctrl+Shift+R than F2?
Definitely not, but pressing [F2] would be much more comfortable.
Have you ever select 2 or more files and then renamed only the focused?
I guess not.

Btw.
I use the renamer-plugin very often and so I changed the hotkey to Ctrl+Shift+A because this combination seems to be better for me as a non-perfect-10fingers-writer.
(o.O) -(@.@)- (/o.O\) ,,,`Q´,,, {~.~} (^.^)

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5196
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by Jan Rysavy » 15 Dec 2005, 21:50

.me wrote:if I select more then one file and press [F2] in SS, the renamer plugin should start
F2 on selected files for Batch Rename.
F3 on directory for Calculate Directory Size.
etc.

Such "optimizations" will lead to more complicated user interface. Imagine the menu items, toolbar buttons, bottom toolbar items, documentation, beginning users. Plugins are optional components which can, but don't have to be installed and Batch Renamer is a plugin.

We don't think this is a good idea.

Lukas Cerman
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 36
Joined: 11 Dec 2005, 20:08
Contact:

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by Lukas Cerman » 15 Dec 2005, 22:19

.me wrote:I really like the renamer-plugin but I miss one feature:
If I select two or more folders I can rename all files inside these folders by using the counter. But I can't cofigure the renamer so that the counter in every folder starts from 1 or whatever I choose.
Thanks for suggestion, it is an interesting idea. I add it on my todo.

User avatar
.me
Posts: 26
Joined: 15 Dec 2005, 00:17
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: SS & Renamer-Plugin Enhancements

Post by .me » 15 Dec 2005, 22:52

Jan Rysavy wrote: F2 on selected files for Batch Rename.
F3 on directory for Calculate Directory Size.
etc.
...
Plugins are optional components which can, but don't have to be installed and Batch Renamer is a plugin.
okay I found the ideal key for this task (I never thought this could work): [NUM ON/OFF] on the numeric block

@Lukas Cerman: thanks - even if this feature will never be implemented the renamer is great.
(for .me the main reason for buying this software)
(o.O) -(@.@)- (/o.O\) ,,,`Q´,,, {~.~} (^.^)

User avatar
Stefan
Posts: 46
Joined: 18 Jan 2006, 12:48

Post by Stefan » 28 Jan 2006, 16:20

Threat highjacking

Hi Lukas,
thank you for your graet plugin.

I use the mass renamer often to wrote the commands from hand.
So it would be nice to have shortcuts for the placeholders like

$(O) for $(OriginalName)
$(N) for $(Name)      and $(N:0,2) $(NamePart)
$(E) for $(ExtPart)
$(D) for $(Drive)
$(P) for $(Path)
$(R) for $(RelativePath)
$(U) for UNC path
$(S) for $(Size)

$(HH:mm:ss) for $(Time:HH:mm:ss)
$(dd.MM.yyyy) for $(Date:dd.MM.yyyy)
$(C:1,2) for $(Counter)

and
L for lower
U for upper
M for mixed
S for sentence => $(NU: ,1)$(NL:2, )

so
$(NL) would be $(Name:lower)

and
$(NU:0,3 ) would be the same as $(Name:upper,0,3)


and
$(RL)-$(NU) would be relative path in lower and name in upper case



and as improvement would be nice
$(NM) - $(NS).$(EU)      {read as NameMixed, blank minus blank, NameSentence, DOT, ExtensionUpper}
with Regex
would rename
mad monday - I LOVE YOU TO MUCH.mp3
to
Mad Monday - I love you to much.MP3
Stefan
Pleased user since v1.52        -   Licence# 0306-0046-01

Seelenquell
Posts: 7
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 13:54

Post by Seelenquell » 28 Jan 2006, 23:06

another request:

i rename many files in different directories. can there be an option in the plugin-menu to select the last "renamer"-process?

like:
Batch Rename.. (key-combination)
last option (key combination)

now i select the files, go in the plugin menu, select last plugin, select batch rename, go to pulldown, get last configuration

then i could go to plugin -> renamer -> last option

everything could be faster and less complicated.. ya know what i mean?

cincura.net
Posts: 593
Joined: 09 Dec 2005, 17:30
Location: a step further
Contact:

Post by cincura.net » 28 Jan 2006, 23:25

Seelenquell wrote:another request:

i rename many files in different directories. can there be an option in the plugin-menu to select the last "renamer"-process?

like:
Batch Rename.. (key-combination)
last option (key combination)
Batch rename > Options > Last used (Ctrl + L)
Jiri {x2} Cincura

Seelenquell
Posts: 7
Joined: 24 Jan 2006, 13:54

Post by Seelenquell » 28 Jan 2006, 23:37

whoops this was fast.. thank you

i didn´t know that `til now. this is indeed much faster :oops:

Lukas Cerman
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 36
Joined: 11 Dec 2005, 20:08
Contact:

Post by Lukas Cerman » 29 Jan 2006, 10:06

Stefan wrote:Threat highjacking

Hi Lukas,
thank you for your graet plugin.

I use the mass renamer often to wrote the commands from hand.
So it would be nice to have shortcuts for the placeholders like

....
Hi Stefan,

the abbreviations seems to be interesting. But this would be feature for geeks only.

What about implementing some kind of autocompletition? You write a first letter or few more a and press TAB key. It could work like autocomplete in unix shell. By pressing TAB key you rotate through possible strings having the same prefix.

It would be context sensitive -- offering only strings that are valid on the place.

Pressing TAB outside parenthesised expression would work like an ordinary TAB -- moving you to the next form in the window. After the unclosed parenthesis, it would work for the autopletition. There is a strong assumption that you would like to finish the expression first (by the closing parenthesis) and then move to the next form.

JohnFredC
Posts: 162
Joined: 10 Dec 2005, 15:44

Post by JohnFredC » 29 Jan 2006, 20:17

I personally favor the abbreviations... in addition to the words.
Mouse-centric, Registered

User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by KNUT » 30 Jan 2006, 10:22

Lukas Cerman wrote:What about implementing some kind of autocompletition?
This would be very cool 8)
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now

User avatar
Stefan
Posts: 46
Joined: 18 Jan 2006, 12:48

Post by Stefan » 30 Jan 2006, 18:46

Lukas Cerman wrote:
Stefan wrote:Threat highjacking

Hi Lukas,
thank you for your graet plugin.

I use the mass renamer often to wrote the commands from hand.
So it would be nice to have shortcuts for the placeholders like

....
Hi Stefan,

the abbreviations seems to be interesting. But this would be feature for geeks only.

What about implementing some kind of autocompletition? You write a first letter or few more a and press TAB key. It could work like autocomplete in unix shell. By pressing TAB key you rotate through possible strings having the same prefix.

It would be context sensitive -- offering only strings that are valid on the place.

Pressing TAB outside parenthesised expression would work like an ordinary TAB -- moving you to the next form in the window. After the unclosed parenthesis, it would work for the autopletition. There is a strong assumption that you would like to finish the expression first (by the closing parenthesis) and then move to the next form.
Thank you for your interest, Lukas.

Sorry but I favor the abbreviations.
I think the expression would be cleaner to read.

$(N)-Backup_0601.$(E)
instead of $(Name)-Backup_0601.$(ExtPart)

And no extra key to press.


> for geeks only
I don't think so, i know a few tools how use [N]-[C,1,2].[E]

This [xx] syntax is btw more comfortable for me
on an german keyboard layout than $(N).
That extra $-key incommodes me. Is it worth to discuse this?


And Lukas, can you implement that case thing like $(NU) and $(NL) ?
$(NU,0,1)$(NL,1,-0).$(EU) instead of
$(Name:upper,0,1)$(Name:lower,1,-0).$(ExtPart:upper)





And will this work with regex too as i ask in my last post above.

Or maybe an extra feature like $("any char or sign") for to stop on this "any char" ?

$(NM)$(" - ")$(NU,0,1)$(NL,1,-0).$(EU)
read as mixed case till find space,minus,space and then sentence case and upper extension.

Thank you for your help.
Stefan
Pleased user since v1.52        -   Licence# 0306-0046-01

Post Reply