TeraCopy

We welcome any suggestions for new features or improvements in Altap Salamander. Please post one suggestion per report.
User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

TeraCopy

Post by KNUT »

Does anyone uses Teracopy (http://www.codesector.com/teracopy.php)?
Whats's the best configuration vor AS? I use the following user menu item:

Code: Select all

Test "$(FullPath)" "$(FullPathInactive)" /NoClose
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now
thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: TeraCopy

Post by thomas »

I'm using for Copy and Move follow arguments in the user menu.
TeraCopy.png
TeraCopy.png (10.97 KiB) Viewed 16194 times

Code: Select all

copy "$(Fullname)" "$(FullPathInactive)" /Close
move "$(Fullname)" "$(FullPathInactive)" /Close
You can't use the argument "$(FullPath)" for the commands Copy and Move,
because TeraCopy would Copy/Move the complete files of the first argument.

But it's only a bad solution, Salamander doesn't supports the needed variable.

The TeraCopy argument [*] reads the content of an added variable.
In this example from the text file filelist.txt (selected in panel)

Code: Select all

C:\Programme\Altap Salamander 2.52\doc\readme.txt
C:\Programme\Altap Salamander 2.52\doc\thirdpty.txt
C:\Programme\Altap Salamander 2.52\doc\license.txt
C:\Programme\Altap Salamander 2.52\doc\license_cz.txt
C:\Programme\Altap Salamander 2.52\doc\lgpl.txt

Code: Select all

copy *$(ListOfSelectedFullNames) "$(FullPathInactive)"
FileList.png
FileList.png (18.22 KiB) Viewed 16195 times
User avatar
vld
Posts: 174
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:21

Re: TeraCopy

Post by vld »

thomas, I'm a little confused. :oops: Can you show how you are set up in the UserMenu?
thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: TeraCopy

Post by thomas »

The last part of my post above is only a demonstration it makes no sense in the normal use.

Configuration of TeraCopy for Copy:
Arguments.png
Arguments.png (4.98 KiB) Viewed 16179 times
TeraCopy Command Line (v2.0+ only)

Code: Select all


TeraCopy.exe Operation [*]Source Target [/SkipAll] [/OverwriteOlder] [/RenameAll] [/OverwriteAll] [/NoClose] [/Close]

    * Operation: Copy|Move|Delete|Test|Check
    * Source: File or folder
    * *Source: Path to filelist
    * Target: Destination folder
The Use of TeraCopy for Altap Salamander is rather small, because the variable [*]Source doesn't works with salamander. But the use with Total Commander is optimal, because the selected source -> *Source: Path to filelist
Total Commander.png
Total Commander.png (18.9 KiB) Viewed 16172 times
User avatar
vld
Posts: 174
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:21

Re: TeraCopy

Post by vld »

Are /Close /OverwriteOlder the only arguments you have for both copy & move?

Also...is the TeraCpy window supposed to open when the process is complete?
Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5229
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: TeraCopy

Post by Jan Rysavy »

I will move this thread to feature requests section.
Salamander should support exporting list of selected names into the temp file for User Menu commands.
(As it does in Options > Configuration > Packers in Pack Dialog Box.)
thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: TeraCopy

Post by thomas »

vld wrote:Are /Close /OverwriteOlder the only arguments you have for both copy & move?

Also...is the TeraCpy window supposed to open when the process is complete?
Yes, the problem is that TeraCopy will open for each selected file or directory a new instance with the arguments [copy "$(Fullname)" "$(FullPathInactive)"]. If you select 100 files you will get 100 TeraCopy instances. I would suggest to use TeraCopy only for some large files or a large directory with subdirectories. If you select a directory TeroCopy will copy all files and his subdirectrories in one instance.
The use of TeraCopy for Altap Salamander is small because Altap Salamander doesn't supports the needed function of TeraCopy (*Source: Path to filelist). I think it's possible to write a batch file which could solve this problem.

Here is a gimmick for TeraCopy!

- First create a new entry in User Menu TeraCopy(filelist):

Code: Select all

Command: C:\Program Files\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe
Arguments: copy *$[temp]\filelist.txt "$(FullPathInactive)"
Initial directory: $(FullPath) 
- Make a selection of your files
- Use Command Make File List [STRG+M] with follow options:

Code: Select all

Line: $(Drive)$(Path)$(FileName)$(CRLF)
Destination: File
File: C:\Documents and Settings\[USER]\Local Settings\Temp\filelist.txt 
- Push the button TeraCopy(filelist) of the User Menu

TeraCopy, how it should works! :mrgreen:
User avatar
vld
Posts: 174
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:21

Re: TeraCopy

Post by vld »

Thanks...I will give this a try. I may create a portable configuration file just to use with TeraCopy.
User avatar
vld
Posts: 174
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:21

Re: TeraCopy

Post by vld »

OK...here's what I did.

I downloaded the portable Teracopy, extracted it and put Teracopy.exe and portable in a Teracopy folder within the plugin folder. I added Teracopy to the UserMenu with these options:

Code: Select all

Command: C:\Program Files\Altap Salamander 2.52\plugins\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe
Arguments: copy "$(Fullname)" "$(FullPathInactive)" /Close /OverwriteOlder
Initial Directory: $(FullPath)

Show Item in UserMenu Bar checked
I then select 4 folder with files and chose to copy. Yes thomas, multiple windows do open, but they are waiting for the previous to finish before the next one starts....I think that is fine, unless I'm missing something.

Here's my reg entry:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Altap\Altap Salamander 2.52\User Menu\2]
"Item Name"="TeraCopy"
"Command"=""
"Arguments"=""
"Initial Directory"=""
"Execute Through Shell"=dword:00000000
"Close Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Open Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Icon"=""
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Show In Toolbar"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Altap\Altap Salamander 2.52\User Menu\3]
"Item Name"="Copy"
"Command"="C:\\Program Files\\Altap Salamander 2.52\\plugins\\TeraCopy\\TeraCopy.exe"
"Arguments"="copy \"$(Fullname)\" \"$(FullPathInactive)\" /Close /OverwriteOlder"
"Initial Directory"="$(FullPath)"
"Execute Through Shell"=dword:00000000
"Close Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Open Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Icon"="C:\\Program Files\\Altap Salamander 2.52\\plugins\\TeraCopy\\TeraCopy.exe,0"
"Type"=dword:00000000
"Show In Toolbar"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Altap\Altap Salamander 2.52\User Menu\4]
"Item Name"="Move"
"Command"="C:\\Program Files\\Altap Salamander 2.52\\plugins\\TeraCopy\\TeraCopy.exe"
"Arguments"="move \"$(Fullname)\" \"$(FullPathInactive)\" /Close /OverwriteOlder"
"Initial Directory"="$(FullPath)"
"Execute Through Shell"=dword:00000000
"Close Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Open Shell Window"=dword:00000000
"Icon"="C:\\Program Files\\Altap Salamander 2.52\\plugins\\TeraCopy\\TeraCopy.exe,2"
"Type"=dword:00000000
"Show In Toolbar"=dword:00000001

User avatar
vld
Posts: 174
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 21:21

Re: TeraCopy

Post by vld »

I'm been using TeraCopy with my above configuration (thanks to thomas for the suggestions) and I like how it works. I like the idea of multiple windows opening so you can see the status of each file and the active window closes once it is finished and the one of the windows waiting then become active. I am using TeraCopy for big files only, but I am sure it would work perfect with smaller files.
Post Reply