Page 1 of 1

[resolved] Directory size calculation is incorrect

Posted: 06 Feb 2019, 14:06
by tukanos
There is something fishy with the directory size calculation in the latest Altap Salamander 3.08 (probably others but I did not test those).

Please see the following screenshot
over_all_space_reported_wrong.jpg
over_all_space_reported_wrong.jpg (318.67 KiB) Viewed 682 times
As you can see the overall size reported by AS 3.08 is over 67GB!!!, but when you get into the directory and select the directories one by one you get 14.2GB the calculation is closer to reality but still not close enough (see explorer results for crosschecking). The explorer properties report around 11.7GB so the reality is completely different.

Re: Directory size calculation is incorrect

Posted: 07 Feb 2019, 01:08
by therube
You missed openssh ^.

Also...

/app_scoop/ is a parent directory.
/app_scoop/apps/ is a child to that parent.
Unless there is nothing more (taking up space) within /app_scoop/ except for the /apps/ directory (& I'd suspect there is ~50 GB of more's)...


-------


In my case, I'm coming up exactly the same.
Salamander Directory Size Calculation is Correct.png
Salamander Directory Size Calculation is Correct.png (53.69 KiB) Viewed 659 times

Otherwise...

Hard links?
What OS?
32 or 64-bit Salamander?

Re: Directory size calculation is incorrect

Posted: 07 Feb 2019, 12:01
by tukanos
therube wrote:
07 Feb 2019, 01:08
You missed openssh ^.

Also...

/app_scoop/ is a parent directory.
/app_scoop/apps/ is a child to that parent.
Unless there is nothing more (taking up space) within /app_scoop/ except for the /apps/ directory (& I'd suspect there is ~50 GB of more's)...


-------


In my case, I'm coming up exactly the same.

Salamander Directory Size Calculation is Correct.png


Otherwise...

Hard links?
What OS?
32 or 64-bit Salamander?
Ah, thank you for you testing. It was due to hard links as there is a link to my /user/<login>. Forgot that AS includes those in the overall count.

I did not include the openssh because part of it was not accessible so I select skip all and it did not show anything just selected. Tried it now and it shows the missing 33GB.