Using FTP to connect to http?

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
Jeffin90620
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 20:14

Using FTP to connect to http?

Post by Jeffin90620 » 04 Mar 2016, 12:52

My client wants me to provide files at his FTP site, but it is set up to use a web browser (the URL begins with "http://" instead of "ftp://"). After that, it is a typical string and port designator. Is there a way I can use Salamander on this site?


Thanks in advance for any help,

Jeff

User avatar
tukanos
Posts: 328
Joined: 21 Dec 2005, 19:14

Re: Using FTP to connect to http?

Post by tukanos » 04 Mar 2016, 15:23

Jeffin90620 wrote:My client wants me to provide files at his FTP site, but it is set up to use a web browser (the URL begins with "http://" instead of "ftp://"). After that, it is a typical string and port designator. Is there a way I can use Salamander on this site?


Thanks in advance for any help,

Jeff
That will depend if it is really a ftp protocol (ftp, sftp, ftps, etc.) or http one (like webdav, sharepoint, etc.). That will depend on the service (daemon) which is serving you. You have to either check the traffic with something like wireshark to see what is really going on or or you have to ask your client what service (daemon) are they using.

Jeffin90620
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 20:14

Re: Using FTP to connect to http?

Post by Jeffin90620 » 04 Mar 2016, 19:08

tukanos wrote: You have to either check the traffic with something like wireshark to see what is really going on or or you have to ask your client what service (daemon) are they using.
I've already initiated the second of your suggestions. I'm unfamiliar with WireShark; will have to check it out.


Thanks,

Jeff

Post Reply