Batch Renaming and Filter

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 106
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by thomas » 18 Jan 2016, 12:54

I was irritated by a strange entry (|*.dll) in the "Batch Renaming" mask. Today I found the solution, I've used "Filter" (STRG-F12) months ago.
I think it isn't helpful, if "Batch Renaming" use the mask of "Filter" as default option.
Batch_Renaming.png
Batch_Renaming.png (5.51 KiB) Viewed 5307 times

User avatar
SvA
Posts: 441
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 02:41
Location: DE

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by SvA » 18 Jan 2016, 14:45

Hi Thomas,

this only happens when the filter is active in the panel from which you launch the renamer plugin. This is exactly what I would expect to happen. Otherwise I might rename unexpected files, because I did not see them in the panel I came from, that is, the set of files I usually want to process.

thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 106
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by thomas » 18 Jan 2016, 16:59

Hello SvA,
I realy think that this is a fault. Because if I use a filter in a panel, I can make my file selection for "Batch Renaming" only with the active filter.
The mask in the "Batch Renaming" Plugin is for the name of the selected files. For this reason I expect the Mask: "*.*" as the default setting.

Example for the use of mask (|*.dll has no function in the mask, but it irritated extremely):
Mask.png
Mask.png (17.33 KiB) Viewed 5252 times

Petr Solin
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 1104
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 09:13
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by Petr Solin » 20 Jan 2016, 00:44

This part of help should make this thing clear:

Mask:
You can filter files for batch rename operation by this mask. It's especially important when you rename files in subdirectories (e.g. you want to rename only *.htm files).

So, mask is not important for selected (or focused) file(s) in panel, but for selected subdirectories or focused subdirectory. I think it's good that this mask is copied from panel filter because it will filter content of subdirectories to files visible in panel with that filter when you enter such subdirectory.

BTW, |*.dll means all names except *.dll.

thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 106
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by thomas » 20 Jan 2016, 12:43

Thank you for your declaration, but in my opinion the arguments are not persuasive.

I want to use "Batch Renaming" independent of the "Filter" settings in the Altap Salamander.
If I start with "Batch Renaming" incl. subdirectories I want to see all files anyway. If I require to filter the files, I can edit the mask now.

I think the most user use selected or focused file(s) in "Batch Renaming" and would prefer as default "*.*" like in "Search".

Petr Solin
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 1104
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 09:13
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by Petr Solin » 20 Jan 2016, 14:09

OK, I understand. We can change this easily, but I need to see more users who want it. So if you want *.*, please let us know in this topic. Thanks!

User avatar
KNUT
Posts: 286
Joined: 12 Dec 2005, 09:57
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by KNUT » 21 Jan 2016, 09:44

thomas wrote:I think the most user use selected or focused file(s) in "Batch Renaming" and would prefer as default "*.*" like in "Search".
I'm with you
Kind regards, KNUT
_____________________________________________
Satisfied Servant Salamander User from Version 1.5 till now

thomas
Translator
Translator
Posts: 106
Joined: 29 Apr 2007, 21:57
Location: Germany

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by thomas » 28 Jan 2016, 17:59

Petr Solin wrote:OK, I understand. We can change this easily, but I need to see more users who want it. So if you want *.*, please let us know in this topic. Thanks!
Please, I'm looking for supporters. :wink:
I've disabled the "Filters" because of this problem. I really prefer as default "*.*" like in "Search".

Am I alone in thinking this?

User avatar
tukanos
Posts: 267
Joined: 21 Dec 2005, 19:14

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by tukanos » 28 Jan 2016, 18:11

thomas wrote:
Petr Solin wrote:OK, I understand. We can change this easily, but I need to see more users who want it. So if you want *.*, please let us know in this topic. Thanks!
Please, I'm looking for supporters. :wink:
I've disabled the "Filters" because of this problem. I really prefer as default "*.*" like in "Search".

Am I alone in thinking this?
From my point of view, I can understand both sides - the prevetion of renaming files in subdirectories i a good reason for one and second is to use renamer and not be influenced by second option set by filters.

I think the best solution would be to have a check box on renamer main screen (there is actually nice place for it below the Exclude extension checkbox) when checked it would ignore the filtering option and have simple *.*.

User avatar
Ether
Posts: 1459
Joined: 10 May 2007, 16:08
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by Ether » 05 Jul 2016, 17:26

I'm for keeping the current behaviour = copy mask. Pressing * after Ctrl+Shift+R doesn't seem too cumbersome if you want to reset the mask.
Ελληνικά rulez.

therube
Posts: 605
Joined: 14 Dec 2006, 06:22

Re: Batch Renaming and Filter

Post by therube » 06 Jul 2016, 16:12

(I must have missed this thread, back when...)
I can understand both sides
Ditto.

I rarely use Filter (Ctrl+F12), though there have been times when I've scared myself, realizing after the fact that I've left a Filter enabled.

Never knew that Batch Rename would pick up as Mask, the active panel Filter.

Opening Batch Rename, I would expect either all or panel highlighted files to be displayed.
That said, I would rather error on the side of caution, keeping the current behavior, displaying the Filter/Mask files.

And with that I like the checkbox in the dialog idea.
That would allow the user the option to pick the method they want.
WinXP Pro SP3 or Win7 x86 | SS 2.54

Post Reply