PictView RC2 fails on some JPGs

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
jkehrel
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:46

PictView RC2 fails on some JPGs

Post by jkehrel »

Since RC2 Pictview fails to show some of my jpg pictures from my digi cam.
was fine with RC1 and before.
Error message is : Invalid image dimensions!

Pictures open fine in Xnview, Irfanview, PhotoImpact, Windows, Firebird and every other program I tested.

One example:

http://www.kehrel.de/ftp/P1010867r.jpg

Yours
Dr. Jürgen Kehrel

Tomcat
Posts: 44
Joined: 28 Apr 2006, 17:21

Post by Tomcat »

The sample displays nicely in my PictView 2.03 RC2. Jürgen, anything else you changed on your PC lately?

User avatar
maxovt
Posts: 50
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 16:00
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Post by maxovt »

Tomcat wrote:The sample displays nicely in my PictView 2.03 RC2.
Me too. Thumnail also displays correctly.
My deepest apologies for my awful English.

Jan Rysavy
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 5197
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Jan Rysavy »

We cannot reproduce this problem too.
Could you please post the screenshot of displayed error message?

Is thumbnail for this file displayed correctly? (menu Left > Thumbnails)

jkehrel
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:46

Further investigation

Post by jkehrel »

Thank you for your answers.
Thumbnails are OK
PictView shows image size in title bar. Second parameter (hight of picture) is a negative number for pictures that don't display. That value is wrong.

Last install was an update with import of old settings.
So I deinstalled SS 2.5 RC2 programm and did a clean install without importing anything.

Now PictView shows all images again.

Don't know what happend to my last install.

Thank you for your support.

Yours
Dr. Jürgen Kehrel

jkehrel
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:46

Arggh, not OK

Post by jkehrel »

Sorry, but I'm back again. I did more testing and found other pictures that PictView does not display.

see Screenshot


Image


As you can see image hight is displayed as -63616 (title bar and status bar)
Real hight is 1920 pixels.

I'm running german Windows XP SP2 with all fixes on a Dell with Intel core 2 duo 6400 processor.

jkehrel
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:46

One more try!

Post by jkehrel »

Some more investigations:

PictView uses gdi32.dll
so I searched my C: drive for all versions of gdi32.dll and gdiplus.dll
Because I use a lot of graphics programs, i found half a dozen different versions. They all try to install their own. :cry:
I replaced all copies with the latest version from the microsoft website and rebootet my computer.

Voila: PictView shows all pictures. did not find one with wrong dimensions.
Hope it lasts.

May be another chapter of the driver hell story.

PictView 2.03 RC2 is fine :wink:

Bye

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: One more try!

Post by Jan Patera »

jkehrel wrote:PictView uses gdi32.dll
I replaced all copies with the latest version from the microsoft website and rebootet my computer.
Voila: PictView shows all pictures. did not find one with wrong dimensions.
I don't think gdi32.dll was guilty.
Before, when you were encountering the bug, how easy was it to get the error message? Was it always whenever you tried to open a specific image? Was as simple as starting Salamander in other than thumbnail view, selecting the image and hitting F3?

jkehrel
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:46

Simple

Post by jkehrel »

I always view my files in detailed view. I select the jpg file and hit F3.
But I can not reproduce the error now after changing dll and rebooting.
Don't know what really was the cause of this error.

Jürgen

Jan Patera
Plugin Developer
Plugin Developer
Posts: 707
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 14:33
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: PictView RC2 fails on some JPGs

Post by Jan Patera »

jkehrel wrote:Since RC2 Pictview fails to show some of my jpg pictures from my digi cam.
was fine with RC1 and before.
Error message is : Invalid image dimensions!
PictView shows image size in title bar. Second parameter (hight of picture) is a negative number for pictures that don't display. That value is wrong.
I have finally been able to reproduce this problem. Finallly. The problem was occuring only in thumbnail mode when there were some .MOV files from the digicam in the same folder.
It will be fixed in the next Altap Salamander version (2.52).
The same problem as here.

Post Reply