Drag and Drop Issues

Discussion of bugs and problems found in Altap Salamander. In your reports, please be as descriptive as possible, and report one incident per report. Do not post crash reports here, send us the generated bug report by email instead, please.
stephan
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 21:54

Drag and Drop Issues

Post by stephan » 03 Sep 2006, 22:03

Maybe what I am trying to do is not supported in Servant Salamander, but if it isn't, it would be quite keen if it could be.

Sometimes I want to drag folders or files from in a Servant Salamander view pane onto my desktop. When I try to do this I get an empty folder called DROPFAKE instead. Is this a bug or is this particular drag and drop event just not supported?

Also, if I drag an item from Servant Salamander into the Recycle Bin, it does not refresh the view of the containing directory like it does if I use "delete" from the right-click context menu in Servant Salamander. In order to see that the item is no longer in the dir, I need to leave the dir and return to it in Servant Salamander. Is this a bug, or is dragging into the recycle bin on the desktop not supported / only partially supported?

I would also like to suggest that Desktop be added to the Drive Bar alongside My Documents and My Network Neighborhood.

Thanks.

- S

User avatar
SvA
Posts: 452
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 02:41
Location: DE

Post by SvA » 04 Sep 2006, 00:00

Hi stephan,

I do not experience the problems you describe on my system (I am using Servant Salamander 2.5 RC 1 on Win XP SP2).

There's only one little thing which might be a little confusing: Salamander's panel does not update immediately when you drag an item from it. This is because Salamander looses focus. As soon as you switch back to Salamander, the file or folder disappears (unless you have auto update turned off in configuration for the drive type in question, in which case you need to press CTRL-F9 to refresh without leaving the folder).

Which versions of the OS and Servant Salamander do you use?
Did you install some alternative shell?
What non-standard shell extensions have you installed?
Is Salamander's shell extension salexten.dll installed?

Petr Solin
ALTAP Staff
ALTAP Staff
Posts: 1110
Joined: 08 Dec 2005, 09:13
Location: Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Drag and Drop Issues

Post by Petr Solin » 04 Sep 2006, 15:11

stephan wrote:Sometimes I want to drag folders or files from in a Servant Salamander view pane onto my desktop. When I try to do this I get an empty folder called DROPFAKE instead. Is this a bug or is this particular drag and drop event just not supported?
If your Windows was not restarted since Salamander installation, it can be the problem, restart Windows and it should work well (shell extension was not loaded). If it's not this problem, try to remove salexten.dll from your temporary directory (see TEMP environment variable, e.g. run "cmd.exe" and in opened shell window run "set TEMP"). Then start Salamander, it should reinstall shell extension, then exit it and restart Windows.
stephan wrote:Also, if I drag an item from Servant Salamander into the Recycle Bin, it does not refresh the view of the containing directory like it does if I use "delete" from the right-click context menu in Servant Salamander. In order to see that the item is no longer in the dir, I need to leave the dir and return to it in Servant Salamander. Is this a bug, or is dragging into the recycle bin on the desktop not supported / only partially supported?
It's feature, Salamander refreshes only when it's active (not to waste procesor/disk time).
stephan wrote:I would also like to suggest that Desktop be added to the Drive Bar alongside My Documents and My Network Neighborhood.
http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?t=17

Please search forums first and post only one question/suggestion/problem in one topic, see forum rules: http://forum.altap.cz/viewtopic.php?t=55

stephan
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Sep 2006, 21:54

Rebooting fixed the bad drag and drop problem

Post by stephan » 04 Sep 2006, 19:28

Thanks.

On the updating issue, I see now that the display is updated when focus is returned. I forget that in Windows you need to click on a window to return focus even if the window is already on top (I'm used to working all day on Irix and Linux where focus follows mouse regardless of window position).

I won't post multiple queries in one post in the future, sorry.

Thanks.

- S

Post Reply